Turkish Delegations to the International Parliamentary Assemblies

International parliamentary assemblies are specific organizations in the international arena whose decisions do not have a binding effect on countries and governments.

The Grand National Assembly of Turkey becomes a member of an international parliamentary assembly with a decision of the Plenary upon a proposal of the Speaker. Currently, the Assembly has already been represented in 10 international parliamentary assemblies.


The number of deputies representing the GNAT in parliamentary assembliesvaries according to the criteria foreseen in the Rules of Procedure.  The deputies representing the GNAT in these parliamentary assemblies are nominated according to Law No. 3620 and the internal regulations of political party groups. Political party groups, in proportion to their powers, shall be represented in delegations to the international parliamentary assemblies.

The nominees of the political party groups are considered as elected when the Plenary is informed of their names by the Office of the Speaker.

The deputies attending international meetings are required to have a good command of French or English, or one of the languages ​​used at the meetings.

Turkey’s delegations to international parliamentary assemblies are as follows:

a. Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean (PAM)

b. Asian Parliamentary Assembly (APA)

c. Parliamentary Assembly of the Union for the Mediterranean (PAUFM)

d. Parliamentary Assembly of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCEPA)

e. Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE)

f. Parliamentary Union of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (PUIC)

g. The Parliamentary Assembly of Black Sea Economic Cooperation (PABSEC)

h. The Parliamentary Assembly of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATOPA)

 i. The Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

 j. The Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic-Speaking Countries (TURKPA)

 k.Parliamentary Assembly of Economic Cooperation Organization (PAECO)

              l.South East European Cooperation Process Parliamentary Assembly (SEECPPA)